MusicNew Music Weekly

New Music Tuesday - March 6, 2012


There’s an album for everyone in this week’s new releases. Treat your ears to the sophisticated electro-pop of Nite Jewel, metalcore quartet Every Time I Die’s new album, pysch-rock from Pond, indie rock from Scotland’s White Rabbits, or some punk rock courtesy of Californians Ceremony. Looking for a laugh? Comedian Doug Stanhope’s got an album of new stuff, too. For more new music, listen to to our New Music Tuesday playlist and consult our Playlist Notes for a little bit about the new releases.

Playlist Notes

  • Kaiser Chiefs - Start The Revolution Without Me
    This week, the British post-punk revivalists release their fifth album since their debut in 2005.

  • Bruce Springsteen - Wrecking Ball
    The Boss returns with his 17th studio, composed almost entirely of songs he wrote in 2011. Two of the included songs feature the late, great Clarence Clemons.

  • Andrew Bird - Break It Yourself
    The singer-songwriter continues his tradition of lush instrumentation and quirky, tuneful indie rock with this new album.

  • Yellow Ostrich - Strange Land
    The second album from this Brooklyn trio follows the band’s recent tour dates with Ra Ra Riot and the Antlers, and a debut album that found praise from NPR, Paste Magazine, and KEXP.

  • The Magnetic Fields - Love At The Bottom Of The Sea
    Now that the no-synth trilogy is behind them, the Magnetic Fields returned to their trademark synth-pop sound.

  • John Mayer - “Shadow Days”
    The lead single from Mayer’s forthcoming fifth solo album is “Strange Days,” a ponderous ballad flush with piano, propulsive drums, and his signature guitar fills.

∞  March 6, 2012 — 2:45PM