MusicNew Music Weekly

New Music Tuesday - March 20, 2012


This week’s New Music Tuesday features three musicians striking out from their respective bands: Sonic Youth’s Lee Ranaldo, Grizzly Bear’s Daniel Rossen and Maroon 5's PJ Morton — all have new music available this week. That’s not all, though: Grammy winner Esperanza Spalding, political punks Anti-Flag, orchestral folk outfit Lost In The Trees, and space-rock trio White Hills and many other artists all have new albums ready for your listening pleasure. Listen to the New Music Tuesday playlist and consult our notes below for more of this week’s brightest new releases.

Playlist Notes

  • Beach House - “Myth”
    The mesmerizing pop duo tease the release of their new album with the new single, “Myth.” Hypnotic guitar, thumping drums, and Victoria Legrand’s ethereal vocals on the track will make you wish May was just a little closer.

  • The Shins - Port Of Morrow
    Five years since their last album, the Shins release Port of Morrow, fusing all the strengths of the band’s first three albums — charm, inventiveness, and sharp production — into one tight package.

  • Various Artists - The Hunger Games: Songs From District 12 And Beyond
    The soundtrack to the much-anticipated film features Arcade Fire, Taylor Swift, Kid Cudi, Maroon 5, The Civil Wars, the Decemberists, and more.

  • Odd Future - The OF Tape Vol. 2
    The incendiary hip-hop group capitalize on their popularity with a second mixtape as a unit, including cuts by Frank Ocean, Tyler the Creater, Hodgy Beats, Syd the Kid, and all the other OFWGKTA members.