Early Listen: Dead Letter Circus Heat Up The Catalyst Fire

Dead Letter Circus

You were warned before; now get ready for the fire! Brisbane’s Dead Letter Circus is following up the 2010’s This Is the Warning with their new full-length The Catalyst Fire, which is boosted by the hot single “Lodestar”. This brand new album carries forth the rage against the machine aesthetic of the debut album but also represents a new energy in the band’s sound, with the addition of new members Tom Skerlj and Clint Vincent on guitar. Thanks to Dead Letter Circus, Rdio listeners get to enjoy this album right now, one week in advance of the official release date. We think it’s always good to get early warning of a fire.

∞  08/01/2013 — 5:00PM

Posted by Rdio at 5:00PM in Exclusives |


Youngblood Hawke Picks Songs for Your Party

Youngblood Hawkw

Your next party is going to have an amazing soundtrack thanks to a new gift from Los Angeles indie pop act Youngblood Hawke, which recently released their debut album, Wake Up. Today, the band shares the I Want to Party playlist, featuring over 70 minutes of jams from the likes of Drake, Tanlines, Big Boi, Com Truise, and more, all in honor of their current Australian tour with P!nk, which continues through August 10. Press play, party down, and snag tickets to the closest Youngblood Hawke tour date to you.

∞  07/28/2013 — 5:00PM

Posted by Rdio at 5:00PM in Music |


Warm Up for Splendour In The Grass with Nova

Splendour In The Grass

The lucky 13th annual edition of Australia’s beloved music festival and camping event Splendour in the Grass returns to the North Byron Parklands in Byron Bay on 26-28 July, where headliners such as Mumford & Sons, Frank Ocean, The Presets, Of Monsters And Men, and Passion Pit will play for their 25,000 closest friends.

The chill may still be in the air in the moments leading up to this epic winter fest, but our own pals at Nova FM have made this two-hour Splendour in the Grass playlist to warm you up whether or not you’re attending in person.

∞  07/21/2013 — 5:00PM

Posted by Rdio at 5:00PM in Events, Music |


Listen Now: We Came As Romans Arrive Early to Rdio

We Came As Romans

Post-hardcore band We Came As Romans achieved a great crossover feat with the last album, 2011’s Understanding What We’ve Grown to Be. The band has a magnetism that draws a wide audience, with infectious riffs and hooks that are a gateway for listeners into the melodic side of metalcore.

We invite Rdio listeners to take an early preview of the new album Tracing Back Roots to hear the band’s bid to surpass the previous success while developing as artists with their message and technical ability. This includes hearing singer Dave Stephens pushing himself to reach new and greater vocal heights, a revelation in itself. This sneak peek is one-week exclusive, so you might want to press play right away!

∞  07/18/2013 — 5:00PM

Posted by Rdio at 5:00PM in Exclusives |

Developer AppEvents

Keep MSMR Company on the Road with Tour Tapes


Lizzy Plapinger and Max Hershenow of New York’s MSMR want you to join them in musical spirit on their summer tour, which is taking them through Europe and Australia in support of their new album Secondhand Rapture. Use your Rdio account to log in to their Tour Tapes site, which takes advantage of the snazzy Rdio API, and make the gloom ‘n dream pop duo a playlist that they can listen to while on the road. Your finished set will show up with other fan tapes on the page. What are you waiting for? Get to mixin’ your master tape right now.

For you lucky listeners, be sure to catch MSMR on tour this month.

∞  07/10/2013 — 5:00PM

Posted by Rdio at 5:00PM in Developer App, Events |


Hear It First: Pet Shop Boys Go Indie With Electric

Pet Shop Boys

After a 32-year career that has encompassed recording 11 studio albums through the Parlophone label, the almighty UK duo of Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe as the Pet Shop Boys is releasing their 12th album on their own x2 Recordings label. Rdio listeners have exclusive access to hear this exciting landmark first. Electric is on and ready for you now.

Get your toes tapping with what the Pet Shop Boys call their “dance record”.

∞  07/09/2013 — 5:00PM

Posted by Rdio at 5:00PM in Exclusives |


Early Listen: Jason Mraz Is Yours in Nova’s Red Room

Jason Mraz

NovaFM recently lured the endearing singer-songwriter Jason Mraz into their special Red Room for an intimate live performance that money can’t buy. The career-spanning set, which features fan favourites like “I’m Yours”, “Butterfly”, and “Lucky”, was performed in front of an audience of fortunate winners and is now available for an exclusive early listen. Go ahead and play Red Room Presents Jason Mraz and prepare to fall in love with Mr. A-Z all over again.

∞  07/08/2013 — 4:00PM

Posted by Rdio at 4:00PM in Exclusives |


Rudimental Drop the Bass at Nova's Red Room


Electro low-end quartet Rudimental brings a speaker stack full of overseas hits from the UK to Australia with Nova Red Room Presents Rudimental. The collection features two infectious UK chart-topping number one singles: The drum and bass-paced “Waiting All Night” featuring Ella Eyre and the dubstep-tinged “Feel the Love” with John Newman, both from the newest album Home. We suggest you turn up these hot steppers and make sure your subwoofer is in working form.

∞  07/03/2013 — 5:00PM

Posted by Rdio at 5:00PM in Exclusives |


An Rdio Exclusive: Gold Fields Gives Empire Of The Sun The Remix Treatment

Empire Of The Sun

Sydney electronic duo Empire Of The Sun is happy to share an exclusive offshoot from their recent album Ice On The Dune with Rdio listeners — a fresh version of the singalong single “Alive” remixed by dance rock outfit and fellow Aussies, Gold Fields.

Have a listen to Empire of the Sun's new album including the original version of the song here and tell us if the remix takes the spot for top track.

∞  07/02/2013 — 5:00PM

Posted by Rdio at 5:00PM in Exclusives |


Fly With Eagles On Rdio


We have wonderful news for current and future fans of classic rock legends Eagles: The 40-year spanning catalog of this legendary band is now available to enjoy online for the very first time. Unleash your mind and take a trip through the band’s fully remastered discography, including studio albums, such as the landmark Hotel California which is still one of the best-selling albums of all time, and the seminal Desperado.

You can also swoop on our Eagles: A Retrospective playlist for our essential highlights of this historic band’s catalog, which includes the honors of six GRAMMYs, six number one albums, and seven number one hits. Enjoy these timeless classics!

∞  06/25/2013 — 6:00AM

Posted by Rdio at 6:00AM in News |